Oregon

Mandatory Changes to Oregon’s Minimum Wage and Agricultural Minimum Wage Notices

  • 21st June 2016

Minimum Wage:

Effective date: 7/1/2016

The Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries updated the Minimum Wage notice. Effective July 1, 2016, employers are required to pay their employees at least the minimum wage rate in effect for the region where the employer is located. The “Standard” minimum wage rate is $9.75 per hour, the “Portland Metro” rate is $9.75 per hour, and the “Nonurban Counties” rate is $9.50 per hour. A listing of counties applicable to each rate is listed on the posting as well as clarification on how employees who make deliveries in other counties are to be paid. The requirement for keeping employee payroll records has increased from two years to three years. Additionally, information on employment of minors have been removed from the posting.

Agricultural Minimum Wage:

Effective date: 7/1/2016

The Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI) has revised the Agricultural Minimum Wage notice to reflect the new minimum wage of $9.75 per hour for “Standard” and “Portland Metro” areas. For “Nonurban counties,” the minimum wage is now $9.50 per hour. BOLI has included new information on the posting to help employers determine which region they fall under. A contact email for BOLI has been added.

The Osha4less.com Oregon All-In-One State and Federal Poster has been updated to include these new mandatory changes on the required postings.

or-a1-pe_1_1

 

New Mandatory posting for Oregon’s Sick Law Notice

  • 17th December 2015

The Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries has released a new Sick Time Law posting. Effective January 1, 2016, employers with 10 or more employees (6 or more in Portland) must pay employees for paid sick time; all other employers must provide unpaid sick time. Sick time begins to accrue on the first day of employment, and earned at the rate of one (1) hour for every thirty (30) hours worked; up to forty (40) hours in a year. Sick time may be used for illness or injury, bereavement, safety and health, or to donate.

Effective date: 1/1/2016

The Osha4less.com Oregon All-In-One State and Federal Poster has been updated to include this new mandatory change on the required postings.

or-a1-pe_1_1

Mandatory Change to Oregon’s Family Leave Act Notice

  • 7th December 2015

The Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries updated the Oregon Family Leave Act posting to include an extended listing of family members to which an employee may take leave to care for. Two (2) exceptions have been added to the eligibility clause; namely, for compensable Workers’ Compensation injuries, for certain Workers’ Compensation injuries involving denied and then accepted claims and for certain accepted claims involving more than one employer, and, when an employee is caring for a family member with a serious health condition and the same family member dies, the employee need not re-qualify with the 25 hour per week average to be eligible for bereavement leave. A benefit provision has also been added under the “Is Family Leave Paid or Unpaid” clause with respect to health insurance benefits. Additionally, the revision date has been updated.

Effective date: 1/1/2016

The Osha4less.com Oregon All-In-One State and Federal Poster has been updated to include this new mandatory change on the required postings.

or-a1-pe_1_1

Oregon’s New Paid Sick Leave Law, Effective January 1, 2016

  • 18th November 2015

Governor Kate Brown signed the Senate Bill 454 on June 22, 2015. The law requires all employers (with limited exceptions) within the State of Oregon to implement “sick time” (up to 40 hours per year), whether paid or unpaid, for employees beginning January 1, 2016.

Accruing hours:  Oregon Law Chapter 537, Section 3, 2015, provides in part: “(1)(a) Employers that employ at least 10 employees working anywhere in this state shall implement a sick time policy that allows an employee to earn and use up to 40 hours of paid sick time per year. Paid sick time shall accrue at the rate of at least one hour of paid sick time for every 30 hours the employee works or 1-1/3 hours for every 40 hours the employee works. (b) Employers that employ fewer than 10 employees working anywhere in this state shall implement a sick time policy that allows an employee to earn and use up to 40 hours of unpaid sick time per year. Unpaid sick time shall accrue at the rate of at least one hour of unpaid sick time for every 30 hours the employee works or 1-1/3 hours for every 40 hours the employee works. (c) Employers that employ at least 10 employees working anywhere in this state and front-load for employees at least 40 hours of paid sick time or paid time off at the beginning of each year used to calculate the accrual and usage of sick time or time off need not comply with subsections (1)(a) and (3) of this section.”

The Bureau of Labor and Industries is still in the process of finalizing the Proposed Rules. Employers will be required to give notice of the requirements of Oregon Law Chapter 537 as provided under OAR 839-007-0050 of the Proposed Rules.

Mandatory Change to Oregon’s No Smoking and Agricultural Employees Minimum Wage

  • 26th October 2015

No Smoking

The Oregon Department of Human Services’ Health Division has updated their No Smoking poster. The poster now identifies aerosolizing and vaporizing (vaping) of inhalants as a form of smoking. Under Oregon’s Indoor Clean Air Act, all businesses must be smoke, aerosol and vapor free and such activities are not allowed within 10 feet of building entrances, exits, windows, accessibility ramps and air intake vents. Additionally a new web address has been added for complaints and further information along with an updated phone number for more information on how to quit smoking.

Effective date: 1/1/2016

Agricultural Minimum Wage

The Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries has updated their Minimum Wage Notice for Agricultural Employees. The updated notice now indicates that the minimum wage for Agricultural employees will continue to be $9.25 per hour between the dates of January 1, 2016 and December 31, 2016.

Effective date: 1/1/2016

The Osha4less.com  Oregon All-In-One State and Federal Poster has been updated to include this new mandatory posting.

or-a1-pe_1_1

Mandatory Change to Oregon’s Minimum Wage

  • 12th October 2015

The Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries has updated their Minimum Wage notice. Domestic working employees residing in the home of the employer must be paid time and one-half the regular rate of pay if they work over 44 hours a week. A subsection has been added in the notice regarding special rules that apply to domestic workers which may be obtained through contact with the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries. Additionally, meal and rest periods may not be waived or used to adjust working hours. Lastly, a new web address for additional information has been added.

This posting went into effect: 10/1/2015

The Osha4less.com  Oregon All-In-One State and Federal Poster has been updated to include this new mandatory posting.

or-a1-pe_1_1

Mandatory Labor Law Change for Oregon!

  • 24th September 2013

oregon labor law changeUpdate your Oregon Labor Law Posters, the required posting has changed.

Beginning January 1, 2014 the current Oregon Minimum Wage of $8.95 per hour will increase to $9.10 per hour. Additionally, the meal periods for minors section has been shortened and now instructs employers instead to contact the Bureau of Labor to receive information regarding these special rules. This is a mandatory posting, requiring updated posters.
To purchase the updated posters, including the E-Update service, which protects you from changes like this in the future, click here.