Massachusetts

Mandatory Change to Minimum Wage Notice in Massachusetts

  • 25th January 2017

The Massachusetts Attorney General’s Fair Labor Division has updated their Minimum Wage notice. Sections regarding Paystub Information, Pay Deductions, Hours Worked, Temporary Workers Rights, Domestic Workers Rights, Public Works and Public Construction Workers, work restrictions for minors under the age of 14 and Domestic Violence have been added. Additionally, the new revision date is 1/2017.

Effective date: 1/1/2017

The Osha4less.com Massachusetts All-In-One State and Federal (English) Poster has been updated to include this new mandatory changes on the required postings.

ma-a1-pe_1 (1)

Mandatory Change to Massachusetts’s Wage and Hour Laws Notice

  • 30th December 2015

The Massachusetts Fair Labor Division updated the Wage & Hour Laws posting. Effective January 1, 2016, the minimum wage will increase to $10.00 per hour and $3.35 per hour for wait staff, service employees, and service bartenders who receive more than $20.00 a month in tips. The provisions on travel time and reporting pay have been removed from the posting and replaced with a provision for earned sick time and non-discrimination and equal pay. The Earned Sick Time provision provides that all employees have the right to earn up to forty (40) hours of sick time in a year (earned at 1 hour for every 30 hours worked). Sick time is paid if employers have 11 or more employees and may be unpaid if employers have 10 or fewer employees. The Non-Discrimination and Equal Pay provision provides that employers may not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, genetic information, age, ancestry, disability, or veteran or active military status. The Fair Labor Hotline hours have been changed from 9 am – 5 pm to 10 am – 4 pm. The updated posting further provides that the Massachusetts wage and hour laws apply to workers regardless of immigration status, including undocumented workers. A revision date has also been added.

Effective date: 1/1/2016

The Osha4less.com Massachusetts All-In-One State and Federal Poster has been updated to include this new mandatory change on the required posting.

ma-a1-pe_1

Mandatory Change to Massachusetts Information on Employees’ Unemployment Insurance Coverage Notice

  • 21st October 2015

The Massachusetts Executive Office of Labor and Workforce Development Department of Unemployment Insurance has updated their “Information on Employees’ Unemployment Insurance Coverage” notice. There is new content added to the notice explaining that all covered members must be located in the United State, its territories, or Canada when filing a claim or certifying for weekly Unemployment Insurance benefits. Additionally, content regarding account access for online application for Unemployment Insurance has been removed. Lastly, a new revision date has been added.

This posting went into effect: 10/6/2015

The Osha4less.com  Massachusetts All-In-One State and Federal Poster has been updated to include this new mandatory posting.

ma-a1-pe_1 (1)

New Mandatory Paid Sick Time Poster for Massachusetts

  • 8th July 2015

The Massachusetts Office of the Attorney General has released the Massachusetts Paid Sick Leave Notice. The new posting describes who is qualified for Paid Sick Leave, how it is earned, and when it can be used and paid. The new law entitles employees in Massachusetts to earn and use sick time according to specific conditions.

Employers that have 11 or more employees qualify for earned sick leave, however, Sick Time may be unpaid if the employer has 10 or fewer employees. Employees can earn and use up to 40 hours of earned sick time per year. Those employees who work for smaller employers can earn and use up to 40 hours of unpaid sick time per year.

The conditions to which the employee can use earned sick time are as follows:

  • To care for a physical or mental illness, injury or medical condition affecting the employee or the employee’s child, spouse, parent, or parent of a spouse.
  • To attend routine medical appointments of the employee or the employee’s child, spouse, parent, or parent of a spouse.
  • To address the effects of domestic violence on the employee or the employee’s dependent child.

Employees earn 1 hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked and may begin accruing hours on the date of hire or on July 1, 2015, whichever date comes later. It covers both private and public employers unless otherwise specified by city or county. The notice additionally explains that an employer may have a different policy so long as it follows the guidelines under the Earned Sick Time Law. Earned paid sick time would be compensated at the same hourly rate paid to the employee when the sick time is used.

Finally, contact information and a web link for the full text of the Earned Sick Time Law and Regulations are provided. All employers in the state of Massachusetts are required to post the notice.

This law came into effect July 1, 2015

The Osha4less.com Massachusetts All-In-One State and Federal Poster has been updated to include this new mandatory posting.

Massachusetts Releases New Mandatory Labor Law Posting

  • 3rd October 2013

mass-posterIt’s that time when poster changes happen! Massachusetts has a new mandatory change– the Fair Employment posting, released by the Massachusetts Commission Against Discrimination.  All current MA posters will need to be thrown away as they are no longer valid.

What is the new posting?

The Massachusetts Commission Against Discrimination has updated their Fair Employment posting and has made several substantial changes. The Fair Employment laws now apply to employers with six or more employees. A Maternity Leave section has been added, requiring employers to grant female employees (who have completed an initial probationary period and have given two weeks notice) at least eight weeks of unpaid leave for the purpose of childbirth, adoption of a child under eighteen, or adoption of a child under twenty-three years old if the child is mentally or physically disabled. Additionally, employers now cannot discriminate against applicants and employees because of their level of language proficiency, and they cannot discriminate on the basis of age for anyone forty years or older. Two new office locations and a new revision date have been added, in addition to several other phrasing changes.

Your State & Federal labor law posters must be updated to reflect this change. You can purchase the required updated poster along with the E-update Service, which protects you from future changes here.

 

Mandatory Labor Law Change for Massachusetts Unemployment Insurance

  • 18th July 2013

Massachusetts’ Executive Office of Labor and Workforce Development, Department of Unemployment Assistance has updated their Information on Employees’ Unemployment Insurance Coverage posting. Employees in the state of Massachusetts can now apply for Unemployment Insurance online, and can no longer file their claim in person. Additionally, the number to call for hearing-impaired relay services has changed and a new 2013 revision date has been added to the posting.

This change is in effect as of June 2013. Purchase Your Updated Massachusetts Labor Law Poster Here.