Posts by: Michele Kennedy

Mandatory Changes to District of Columbia’s Family and Medical Leave Act, Minimum Wage, and Accrued Sick and Safe Leave Act Notices

  • 20th April 2016

Family and Medical Leave Act:

The District of Columbia Office of Human Rights updated the DC Family and Medical Leave Act notice. Information pertaining to an employee’s medical leave eligibility based on his her her inability to work for a specific duration (total of 32 weeks during a 24-month period) has been removed.

Effective date: 3/1/2016

Minimum Wage:

The District of Columbia Department of Employment Services, Office of Wage and Hour updated the Minimum Wage notice. Adult learners have been removed from the minimum wage exception pursuant to the Wage Theft Prevention Amendment Act of 2014, which went into effect on February 26, 2015. Newly hired persons 20 years of age or older must be paid the established District of Columbia minimum wage immediately upon hire. Direct care workers have been removed from the overtime exception pursuant to the United States Department of Labor’s Home Carer Rule, which went into effect on November 12, 2015. Accrual of sick and safe leave has also been revised to not exceed five (5) days per calendar year for employees who are employed in a business with 25 to 99 employees, and not to exceed three (3) days per calendar year for employees who are employed in a business with less than 25 employees.

Effective date: 2/25/2016

Accrued Sick and Safe Leave Act:

The District of Columbia Office of Wage and Hour updated the Accrued Sick and Safe Leave Act of 2008 notice. The updated notice provides that employees of bars, staffing firms, temporary and part-time employees are covered under the Accrued Sick and Safe Leave Act of 2008.

Effective date: 2/25/2016

The Osha4less.com District of Columbia All-In-One State and Federal Poster has been updated to include these new mandatory changes on the required postings.

dc--a1-pe_2

Mandatory Changes to Nevada’s Daily Overtime and Minimum Wage Bulletin Notices

  • 13th April 2016

Daily Overtime:

Effective date: 4/1/2016

The State of Nevada’s Department of Business & Industry, Office of the Labor Commissioner has updated their Daily Overtime Annual Bulletin to reflect the July 1st, 2016 effective date for the daily overtime rates. Additionally, the address for the Office of the Labor Commissioner has been updated for Carson City.

Minimum Wage Bulletin:

Effective date: 4/1/2016

The State of Nevada’s Department of Business & Industry, Office of the Labor Commissioner has updated their Minimum Wage Annual Bulletin to reflect the July 1st, 2016 effective date for the Nevada Minimum Wage. Additionally, the address for the Office of the Labor Commissioner has been updated for Carson City.

The Osha4less.com Nevada All-In-One State and Federal Poster has been updated to include this new mandatory change on the required postings.

nv-a1-pe_2

New York to Implement Statewide Minimum Wage

  • 11th April 2016

As part of the 2016-2017 budget, Governor Andrew M. Cuomo signed into legislation a statewide minimum wage plan of $15.00 and a 12-week paid family leave policy on April 4, 2016. The 12-week paid family leave policy will be funded through a nominal payroll deduction on employees (costing business nothing). The program will begin to phase-in beginning 2018 and become fully implemented in 2021. Employees will be eligible for 12 weeks of paid family leave after having worked for their employer for six months.

The statewide minimum wage is said to lift the earning of more than 2.3 million New Yorkers. The staggering increase in the minimum wage is set to increase by region, as follows:

  • for workers in New York City employed by businesses with 11 or more employees, the minimum wage will increase to $11.00 by the end of 2016, and then an additional $2.00 each year thereafter until it reaches $15.00 on December 31, 2018,
  • for workers in New York City employed by businesses with 10 or fewer employees, the minimum wage will increase to $10.50 by the end of 2016, and then by an additional $1.50 each year thereafter until it reaches $15.00 on December 31, 2019,
  • for workers in Nassau, Suffolk, and Westchester Counties, the minimum wage will increase to $10.00 by the end of 2016, and then by $1.00 each year thereafter until reaching $15.00 on December 31, 2021,
  • for workers in the rest of the state, the minimum wage will only increase to $9.70 by the end of 2016, and then another $.70 each year thereafter until reaching $12.50 on December 31, 2020; following that, it will continue to increase to $15.00 based on an indexed schedule that is to be set by the Director of the Division of Budget in consultation with the Department of Labor.

Annual analysis of the economy in each region, to be submitted by the Department of Labor by the Division of Budget, will take place in 2019 to determine the effects of the minimum wage increases in efforts to determine if a temporary suspension of the scheduled increase is necessary.

Employers who do not comply with the Minimum Wage Law are subject to orders to pay: back wages, interest (16 percent), liquidated damages, and fines (which can total up to 200 percent of the missing wages). Criminal prosecution and penalties may also be imposed. Accordingly, it is important to remain in compliance and up to date with the scheduled increases in the minimum wage.

Mandatory Change to Iowa’s OSHA Notice

  • 8th April 2016

The Iowa Workforce Development updated the Iowa OSHA notice with a new color scheme. For reporting purposes, “catastrophes” has been replaced with the terms “hospitalizations, amputations, or loss of an eye.” Additionally, there are minor wording changes throughout the notice, an email address has been added as a means to contact Iowa OSHA, the URL to the website has been updated, and Michael A. Mauro has been noted as the Labor Commissioner.

Effective date: 9/1/2016

The Osha4less.com Iowa All-In-One State and Federal Poster has been updated to include this new mandatory change on the required postings.

ia-a1-pe_2

Mandatory Change to Wisconsin’s Unemployment Benefits Notice

  • 28th March 2016

The State of Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development has updated their Unemployment Benefits notice. When applying for Unemployment Benefits, applicants must have a Wisconsin Driver’s License or State Identification Number, or if they are a union member, the name and local number of the applicant’s union hall. Non U.S. citizens must have their Alien Registration Number, the document number from which the document is obtained and its expiration date. A new web address for applicants to apply has been added along with an additional phone number to apply over the phone. Lastly, a new logo for the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development has been added along with an updated revision date of 3/2016.

Effective date: 3/1/2016

The Osha4less.com Wisconsin All-In-One State and Federal Poster has been updated to include this new mandatory change on the required postings.

wi-a1-pe_2

Recommended Changes to Oklahoma’s Minimum Wage Notices

  • 25th March 2016

Minimum Wage Act:

Effective date: 3/1/2016

The Oklahoma Department of Labor updated the Minimum Wage Act notice. Melissa McLawhorn Houston has been updated as the Commissioner of Labor.

Minimum Wage:

Effective date: 3/1/2016

The Oklahoma Minimum Wage notice has been updated with a new layout. Melissa McLawhorn Houston has been updated as the Commissioner of Labor, and the Tulsa office location has been removed from the posting.

The Osha4less.com Oklahoma All-In-One State and Federal Poster has been updated to include this new recommended change on the required postings.

ok-a1-pe_1_1 (1)

Mandatory Change to California’s Pregnancy Disability Leave Notice

  • 25th March 2016

The California Department of Fair Employment and Housing has updated their Rights and Obligations As A Pregnant Employee notice effective April 1, 2016. The notice is no longer referred to as “Notice A” and is now a posting requirement for businesses with 5 employees or more. Other changes include a new section regarding obligations for notifying the employer of foreseeable/un-foreseeable pregnancy related events and the consequences that come with improper notification. A new Additional Rights Under the California Family Rights Act (CFRA) Leave section has been added which explains specifications to an employee’s entitlement under the act. Lastly, there has been an addition of the DFEH’s website, minor changes to verbiage and a new revision date (04/16).

Effective date: 4/1/2016

The Osha4less.com California All-In-One State and Federal Poster has been updated to include this new mandatory change on the required postings.

ca-a1-pe

Mandatory Change to Wyoming’s OSHA Notice

  • 18th March 2016

The Wyoming Department of Workforce Services has updated their Occupational Safety and Health notice. Two new sections regarding Workers’ Rights and Employer’s Responsibilities have been added to the notice. The two sections list what is required and expected for both the Employer and the Worker in regards to OSHA’s new safety regulations.

Effective date: 3/1/2016

The Osha4less.com Wyoming All-In-One State and Federal Poster has been updated to include this new mandatory change on the required postings.

wy-a1-pe_2

Recommended Change to Texas’s Workers’ Compensation Notice 9

  • 26th February 2016

The Texas Division of Workers’ Compensation updated the Workers’ Compensation Notice 9 posting. The Texas Department of Health has been renamed Texas Department of State Health Services. There is also an updated contact number for the Division of Workers’ Compensation, and the revision date has been updated.

Effective date: 1/5/2016

The Osha4less.com Texas All-In-One State and Federal Poster has been updated to include this new recommended change on the required postings.

tx-a1-pe_2

5 of 9
123456789