Archive for July, 2016

Mandatory Change to Minnesota’s Minimum Wage Notice

  • 26th July 2016

Minimum Wage

The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry has updated their Minimum Wage notice. The wage rates for large employers has increased to $9.50 per hour. For small employers, training wages and youth wages the rate has increased to $7.75 per hour. And for J-1 Visa employees, the wage has increased to $7.75 per hour. Additionally, the updated notice has provided a web address to view complete wage rate information. The revision date of the notice is July 2016.

Effective Date: 8/1/2016

The Osha4less.com Minnesota All-In-One State and Federal Poster has been updated to include these new mandatory changes on the required postings.

mn-a1-pe_2

New Poster Requirements for Sunnyvale, California

  • 26th July 2016

Minimum Wage

The Sunnyvale Office of Equality Assurance has updated the Minimum Wage notice. Beginning July 1, 2016, employers who are subject to the Sunnyvale Business License Tax or who maintain a facility in Sunnyvale must pay to each employee who performs at least two (2) hours of work per week in Sunnyvale wages of not less than $11.00 per hour.

Effective Date: 7/1/2016

The Osha4less.com Sunnyvale Poster is currently in design and will include this new requirement.

New Poster Requirements for El Cerrito, California

  • 26th July 2016

Minimum Wage

The City of El Cerrito has released their Minimum Wage notice. Effective July 1, 2016, employees who perform at least two (2) hours of work in a particular workweek within the geographic limits of the City of El Cerrito must be paid wages of not less than $11.60 per hour.

Effective Date: 7/1/2016

The Osha4less.com El Cerrito Poster is currently in design and will include this new requirement.

New Poster Requirements for Santa Monica, California

  • 26th July 2016

Minimum Wage

The City of Santa Monica has released the official notice for the Santa Monica Minimum Wage. Every employer shall pay to each employee (including temporary and part-time employees) who performs at least two hours of work in a particular work week within the geographic limits of the City of Santa Monica, wages of not less than $10.50 per hour, effective July 1, 2016.

Hotel Worker Living Wage

The City of Santa Monica has released the official notice for the Santa Monica Hotel Worker Living Wage. Starting July 1, 2016, Hotel Employers in Santa Monica must pay to each Hotel Worker (including temporary and part-time employees) wages of not less than $13.25 per hour. The hotel living wage requirement, set forth in the Santa Monica Minimum Wage Ordinance applies to employees whose primary place of employment is at one or more hotels, and who are employed directly by the Hotel Employer or by a person who has contracted with the Hotel Employer to provide services at the hotel. Managerial, supervisory, or confidential employees are not included in the definition. An employer that contracts, leases, or sublets premises connected to the hotel and operated in conjunction with the hotel, or that provides services at the hotel, must also pay the hotel living wage. The hotel living wage does not apply to hostels

Service Charge

The City of Santa Monica has released the official notice for the Santa Monica Service Charge Law. Starting July 1, 2016, employers using service charges must abide by regulations in the Minimum Wage Ordinance. Employers must pay all revenue collected as a service charge to the workers who generally performed the services for which the charge was collected, pay any revenue collected as a health-care related surcharge to the employee, inform employees of service charge distribution, and keep records of service charge distribution. Employers may pay service charge revenue to employees whose primary role is not supervisory or managerial and must also provide clear and conspicuous notice to customers of any service charges and their use.

Paid Sick Leave

The City of Santa Monica has released the official notice for the Santa Monica Paid Sick Leave. Starting January 1, 2017, employers are required to provide paid sick time to their employees who work within Santa Monica city limits. Employees are eligible for paid sick leave if they perform at least two hours of work in a particular work week within the geographic limits of the City of Santa Monica. Paid sick leave will begin to accrue at the start of an employee’s employment. Employees can use accrued paid sick leave after the first 90 days of employment or consistent with the employer’s policies, whichever is sooner. For every 30 hours worked, an employee shall accrue one hour of paid sick leave.

Effective Date for All Notices: 7/1/2016

The Osha4less.com Santa Monica Notices Poster is currently in design and will include this new requirement.

Mandatory Change to Virginia’s VOSH Notice

  • 20th July 2016

VOSH

The Virginia Department of Labor and Industry has updated their Job Safety and Health Notice. The Accident Reporting section has been updated stating that all fatalities must be reported to VOSH within eight (8) hours and all injuries or illnesses that result in an in-patient hospitalization, amputation or loss of an eye must be reported to VOSH within twenty-four (24) hours. Additionally, the Recordkeeping section has been updated to reflect that smaller employers with 10 or fewer employees are exempt from most recordkeeping requirements. Lastly, the new revision date of the notice is July 2016.

Effective Date: 7/1/2016

The Osha4less.com Virginia All-In-One State and Federal Poster has been updated to include these new mandatory changes on the required postings.

va-a1-pe_2

 

New Poster Requirements for Pasadena, California

  • 18th July 2016

Minimum Wage

The City of Pasadena has released their Minimum Wage poster. Beginning July 1, 2016, employers with 26 or more employees must pay wages of not less than $10.50 per hour (in addition to any tips received) to each employee. The minimum wage requirement set forth in the Pasadena Minimum Wage Ordinance applies to both adult and minor employees who work two (2) or more hours per week in Pasadena. Lastly, under the Ordinance, employees who assert their rights to receive the City’s minimum wage are protected from retaliation.

Effective Date: 7/1/2016

The Osha4less.com Pasadena Poster is currently in design and will include this new requirement.

Recommended Change to Utah’s Workers’ Compensation Notice

  • 15th July 2016

Workers’ Compensation:

The Utah Labor Commission has updated their Workers’ Compensation Notice. A new web address has been added to receive further information on workers’ compensation. Additionally, the notice has a new format and the Utah Labor Commission logo has been removed.

Effective Date: 6/22/2016

The Osha4less.com Utah All-In-One State and Federal Poster has been updated to include these new mandatory changes on the required postings.

ut-a1-pe_2

 

New Poster Requirements for San Diego

  • 14th July 2016

Minimum Wage

The City of San Diego has released their Official Minimum Wage Notice. Effective July 11, 2016, employees who perform at least two (2) hours of work in one work week within the geographic boundaries of the City of San Diego must be paid wages of not less than $10.50 per hour for all hours worked within the City’s geographic boundaries. An employer may not retaliate against an employee for asserting any rights provided within the ordinance.

Effective Date: 7/11/2016

Earned Sick Leave

The City of San Diego has released their Earned Sick Leave Notice. Effective July 11, 2016, all employers must provide paid earned sick leave to each employee (including temporary and part-time employees) who performs at least two (2) hours of work within the geographical boundaries of the City of San Diego. Employers must provide employees one (1) hour of earned sick leave for every thirty (30) hours worked by the employee within the geographic boundaries of the City of San Diego. Existing employees begin to accrue earned sick leave on July 11, 2016. Employees hired after July 11, 2016 begin to accrue sick leave on their employment start date. Employees are entitled to use accrued earned sick leave beginning July 11, 2016 or after the ninetieth (90) day of employment, whichever is later. Lastly, an employer may not retaliate against an employee for asserting any rights provided within the ordinance.

Effective Date: 7/11/2016

The Osha4less.com San Diego Notices Poster is currently in design and will include these new requirements.

New Poster Requirement for Los Angeles County

  • 14th July 2016

Los Angeles County Minimum Wage Ordinance

The County of Los Angeles has released their Minimum Wage Ordinance poster. All businesses within the unincorporated areas of Los Angeles County must post the new poster beginning July 1, 2016 for large employers with 26 or more employees and July 1, 2017 for small employers with 25 or less employees. Additionally, the new poster also states an employee’s right to file a complaint or sue without retaliation from the employer. Employers must also give employees a written statement upon hire regarding their job and pay along with a pay statement for each pay day. Lastly, the revision date of the notice is 6/14/2016.

Effective Date: 7/1/2016 (Large Employers)

Effective Date: 7/1/2017 (Small Employers)

The Osha4less.com Los Angeles County Poster is currently in design and will include these new requirements.

Mandatory Change to Georgia’s Bill of Rights for Injured Workers

  • 12th July 2016

Bill of Rights for Injured Workers:

The Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation has updated the Bill of Rights for the Injured Worker notice. All injuries occurring on or before June 30, 2013 shall now be entitled to lifetime medical benefits. If an accident occurred on or after July 1, 2013, then medical treatment shall be limited to a maximum of 400 weeks from the accident date. If the injury is catastrophic, the injured worker may now be entitled to lifetime medical benefits. Additionally, catastrophic and non-catastrophic injuries are now entitled to not exceed $575 per week for a job related death or injury. Weekly income benefits will now be no more than $383 per week, not exceeding 350 weeks if it is determined that the injured employee may work and chooses not to or if the employee is only able to get a lower income job due to the injury. Dependents, in the event the worker dies due to a job-related injury will receive no more than $575 of weekly benefits while a widowed spouse with no children will receive a paid maximum of $230,000. Lastly, the notice has an updated revision date of 7/2016.

Effective Date: 7/2016

The Osha4less.com Georgia All-In-One State and Federal Poster has been updated to include these new mandatory changes on the required postings.

 

ga-a1-pe_1

1 of 2
12