Archive for February, 2014

Louisiana Workforce Updates their Earned Income Credit Posting

  • 12th February 2014

AS of January 2014, the Louisiana Workforce Commission has  updated their Earned Income Credit posting. To change states that if an employee makes $47,000 or less per year, an employer should notify the employee at the time of hire, of the potential availability of Earned Income Tax credits. The new 2014 income limits for eligibility  are $46,997 ($52,427 for married and filing jointly), with 3 or more qualifying children, $43,756 ($49,186 for married filing jointly), $38,511 ($43,941 for married, filing jointly) with one qualifying child, $14,590 ($20,020 for married, filing jointly) with no qualifying children.  Additionally, a new revision date has been added to the posting.

To update your Louisiana labor law poster with this new posting and secure 1 year of updates to protect yourself from future changes, click here.

New Minimum Wage in Effect for District of Columbia as of July 1st, 2014

  • 11th February 2014

As of January 15th, the Minimum Wage Amendment Act of 2013 has been signed into law. The bill will increase the minimum wage for all District workers to $9.50 an hour starting in July 2014. Provisions are included that will further increase the minimum wage in the future.

Our District of Columbia Labor Law Poster and 1 Year update Service will cover you against this change, and any consecutive changes thereafter.

Nevada Fair Employment Posting Now In Effect

  • 11th February 2014

The Nevada Fair Employment Poster has been updated to reflect a new protected category. The Nevada Equal Right Commission now clarifies that discrimination on the basis of genetic information is prohibited in employment. A new Nevada Labor Law poster has been issues. Replace your current poster here, which includes a 1 year update service to protect you from changes like these and others in the future.

New 2014 Minimum Wage for Delaware

  • 11th February 2014

de--a1-pe_2The Delaware minimum wage will be raised to $8.25 an hour in two increments. As of June 1st, 2014, the Delaware state minimum wage will go up to 50 cents to $7.75 and on June 1st 2015 it will go up another 50 cents to $8.25 an hour, which is $1 higher than the federal minimum wage.

The last minimum wage increase was passed in 2009, when the Federal Government increased the national minimum wage. Once the full minimum wage is increased Delaware will be on par with New Jersey. Delaware’s Governor Markell, commented on the importance of this increase, stating that “We cannot wait any longer to get this done. Raising the minimum wage represents one of the fastest ways we can act to give a boost to many struggling working families.”

Update your Delaware posters with our 1 year Update Service to ensure the most up-to-date labor law poster.

Updated Oklahoma Workers’ Compensation Notice due Feb. 1st 2014

  • 11th February 2014

As of February 1, 2014 the Oklahoma Workers’ Compensation Commission has made several changes to their ‘Worker’s Compensation Notice’.

Any claim for compensation for any accidental injury or death must be filed with the commission within one (1) year from the date of the injury or death.

Any claim for compensation for occupational disease or illness must be filed within two (2) years of the last injurious exposure; and any claim for compensation for cumulative trauma must be filed within one (1) year of the last payment of disability compensation or two (2) years from the date of injury, whichever one being longer.

In addition employers must provide employees with immediate first aid, medial, surgical, hospital, optometric, pediatric and nursing services, medicine, crutches and other apparatus as may be necessary for the employees injury.

Lastly, the commission has changed their phone number and added a new revision date.

To purchase an updated poster, with the latest changes click here.