Archive for September, 2013

New Jersey Adds NEW Mandatory Labor Law Change!

  • 24th September 2013

 New Jersey has a new mandatory change– the SAFE Act posting.
The New Jersey Security and Financial Empowerment Act was signed into law July 2013. It allows victims (and certain related family members of victims) of domestic violence or sexual assault 20 days of job-protected leave. To qualify for this leave, an employee must have worked for the employer for at least 12 months and for at least 1,000 hours during the immediately preceding 12-month period. Leave must be taken within one year of the incident.
Your State & Federal labor law posters must be updated to reflect this change. You can purchase the required updated poster along with the E-update Service, which protects you from future changes by clicking here.

Mandatory Labor Law Change for Oregon!

  • 24th September 2013

oregon labor law changeUpdate your Oregon Labor Law Posters, the required posting has changed.

Beginning January 1, 2014 the current Oregon Minimum Wage of $8.95 per hour will increase to $9.10 per hour. Additionally, the meal periods for minors section has been shortened and now instructs employers instead to contact the Bureau of Labor to receive information regarding these special rules. This is a mandatory posting, requiring updated posters.
To purchase the updated posters, including the E-Update service, which protects you from changes like this in the future, click here.
 

“Notice of Coverage Options” Form Requirement

  • 24th September 2013

Are you ready?

Per federal law, employers must provide “Notice of Coverage Options” to every employee by October 1, 2013.

What is the “Notice of Coverage Options”?

The Affordable Care Act (ACA) – often called federal health care reform – requires employers to notify workers about the availability of the new Health Insurance Marketplaces.

What do I need to do?

Each employer must distribute the “Notice of Coverage Options” to ALL employees – full-time, part-time, seasonal, temporary, etc. – by October 1st. All employees must receive the Notice whether or not they are eligible for benefits at work. Going forward, employers are also required to provide all new hires with the notice within 14 days of their hire date.

Download the Notice and Get Ready to Your Employee’s Answer “Affordable Health Care Act” Questions!

If you are interested in purchasing a guide, to help you decipher the new form requirements you may purchase the material here.

California’s Minimum Wage About to Increase to $10 an Hour

  • 13th September 2013

capital buildingCalifornia’s current minimum wage of $8 an hour is likely to increase to $10 an hour in the next 2 years. This week, Governor Jerry Brown and Democratic legislators announced that they are supporting the legislation to raise the minimum wage to $9/hour by July of next year, and $10/hour by 2016.

If the law passes, California would have the highest minimum wage in the nation. Legislation that has passed in Connecticut and New York will also be increasing the minimum wage in those states to $9 an hour in 2015, but no state has gone as far as California. The bill does not take into account automatic adjustments for inflation as the original bill proposed, but it has moved at a faster pace, possibly due to the outside pressure from labor unions. Organizations opposed to the proposed labor law increases include: The California Chamber of Commerce, the National Federation of Independent Businesses and the California Restaurant Association.

As the likelihood of the increase is almost sure, businesses must prepare to update their labor law posters. Services like the Poster Update Service, guarantee that you have the most up-to-date postings on your poster. Click Here to purchase the California Labor Law poster with 1 Year of Updates.